Technician Spotlight: Catherine Fitzpatrick

medicalCatherine Fitzpatrick
Hillsboro, OR

What is your role with BioTek? 
I work as Clinical Lab Specialist doing Allergy Skin testing and creating Allergy immunotherapy.

What do you like most about working with BioTek?
I love being able to work closely with the patients and build a relationship with them.

What are your 3 goals each week?

  1. Getting as many patients tested as I can.
  2. Call as many patients as I can to come into test who have Approvals.
  3. Submitting Demos for potential patients for testing

What is your favorite success story?
One patient reported being able to play outside with her children and being to go to a rose garden with her mother and really enjoy the flowers without any of her allergy symptoms.

What piece of advice would you give to other BioTek Allergy techs/locations?
Give your patients as much information about Allergy testing, immunotherapy as you can and discuss the immune system and the effects allergies have on it.

What is your favorite thing to do when you’re not at work?
I love to crochet and bake. I’m constantly looking for new things to bake and create with crocheting. I also enjoy working in my garden, playing with our dogs and tending to my chickens.

What’s one thing you couldn’t live without? 
My family, they are what keeps me going every day.

If you could meet anyone, who would it be and why?
I have no one in particular that I wish to meet. If I could see my dad again that would be awesome, unfortunately he passed away 14 years ago.

What is something that only a few people know about you? 
I worked as a nurse assistant full time when I was a sophomore in high school. I also worked in construction when I was in my early 20’s helping my husband with the business. I shoveled gravel, concrete and cook the meals for all the guys. We worked several days at a time at the coast which meant bringing along the camper so I could cook.

If you could take a vacation anywhere, where would you go?  
I do not like flying, so I would rent a motor home and travel around the US. There are so many beautiful places to see.

What are some additional fun facts about you? 
I have 6 children, 9 grandchildren, I not only worked in construction but I also worked for 30 years in Electronics as a Supervisor and Lead tech. I’ve only been an MA for 4 years.